FSU to host Red Sox World Series 2013 trophy

FITCHBURG – The public is invited to visit the Fitchburg State University campus this Saturday to see the Boston Red Sox 2013 World Series trophy on Saturday, March 22 from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m. at the Athletics and Recreation Center, 130 North St. Admission is free and guests will be allowed to take their picture with the trophy.
The visit is part of an effort by the Red Sox to share the 2013 World Series trophy with fans throughout New England, the U.S., and the globe.
The World Series trophy is the only championship trophy of the four major sports in the United States that is not named after a particular person (contrasting with the National Hockey League’s Stanley Cup, the National Football League’s Vince Lombardi Trophy, and the National Basketball Association’s Larry O’Brien Trophy).
Last October the Red Sox won their third World Series title in 10 years when they beat the St. Louis Cardinals 6-1 in game six at Fenway Park in Boston.
“We are thrilled to host and showcase the Boston Red Sox World Series Trophy at Fitchburg State University through the tremendous efforts of the Civic Days Committee and others to make this a reality especially as the City of Fitchburg is celebrating its 250th Birthday,” said Fitchburg Mayor Lisa A. Wong.
“Baseball is a team sport that requires leadership, collaboration, skills, excitement, stamina, determination and pride,” said Fitchburg Economic Development and Marketing Director Jerry Beck. “We are inspired by the Red Sox amazing accomplishment and want to follow in their footsteps and collaborate with our citizens to build a winning team here in Fitchburg.”
For more information please contact the mayor’s office at 978-829-1801 or email the Civic Days Committee at[email protected].
Background Information about the World Series Trophy

  • ·        Although it did not receive its current name (The Commissioner’s Trophy) until 1985, the trophy was first awarded in 1967, when the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Boston Red Sox.
  • ·        A new Commissioner’s Trophy is created each year, much like the Lombardi Trophy and the O’Brien Trophy; in contrast, the Stanley Cup is passed from champion to champion.
  • ·        Since its inception, the only year that the Commissioner’s Trophy has not been awarded was 1994, when the players’ strike ended the season on August 11, resulting in the cancellation of the entire post-season.
  • ·        The current trophy was redesigned in 1999 for the 2000 World Series and made by Tiffany & Co.
  • ·        The original trophy was designed by Lawrence Voegele, of Owatonna, Minnesota. The trophy is 24 inches (61 cm) tall, excluding the base, and has a diameter of 11 inches (28 cm).
  • ·        It weighs approximately 30 pounds (14 kg) and is made of sterling silver.
  • ·        The trophy features 30 gold-plated flags, one for each of the Major League teams, which rise above a silver baseball covered with latitude and longitude lines that symbolize the world.
  • ·        The baseball also contains 24-karat vermeil baseball stitches.
  • ·        The base contains an inscription of the signature of the commissioner, as well as the words “Presented by the Commissioner of Baseball.”